

ROYAL DUNEDIN MALE CHOIR

Minutes of 134th Annual General Meeting

The annual general meeting of the Royal Dunedin Male Choir was held at the Choir's rehearsal room, Caversham Baptist Church South Road Dunedin on Monday April 12, 2021 at 9.00pm, chaired by the President Nick Nicolson

The Secretary Ian Gray read the notice convening the 134th AGM. Rule 23 requires 50% of the active performing Members (currently 43) to be present for a quorum. President Nick Nicolson noted that that provision had been met so the meeting was properly convened and he welcomed attendees.

ATTENDANCE (35):

Linda Folland, John Buchanan MNZM, Martin Albert, Michael Ayers, Don Barkman, Peter Bathgate, Tony Binns, Geoff Carter, John Dennison, Steve Devlin, Brian Foley, Ian Gray, Neil Hall, Geoff Hanna, Neil Hodgkin, Rod MacIennan, Hartley Meder, Jim Muir, Lyn Murray, Lindsay Neilson, Hugh Newbury, Nick Nicolson, David Patrick, Mike Rawling, Peter Russell, Richard Sipthorpe, Anthony Skegg, Ray Small, Andrew Smillie, Jonathan Storm, Robert Storm, Campbell Thomson, Murray Thomson, Graeme Welsh, Simi Tuiavii.

APOLOGIES (11): Peter Appleby, Ken Baker, Judy Bellingham MNZM, Lester Billing, Grant Christie, Peter Keddell, David Mills, Bruce Robertson, Ray Sheppard, Peter Stapleton, Albie Warner

Sustained

MINUTES:

The minutes of the 133rd Annual General Meeting held on Monday 29 June 2020 having been confirmed by the committee as a true and correct record of those proceedings, were taken as read.

Moved: Ian Gray

Seconded: John Dennison

Agreed.

MATTERS ARISING FROM THOSE MINUTES

There were no matters arising from the Minutes.

ANNUAL REPORT:

John Dennison presented the Annual Report and moved its adoption.

Seconded: Ray Small

The Chairman (of the Annual General Meeting) stated that the Annual Report was now open for discussion. However, as there were no questions asked of the Chairman of Committee, there was now a consensus to adopt the Annual report.

Agreed.

ANNUAL ACCOUNTS:

Neil Hodgkin presented the annual financial statements and moved its adoption.

Seconded: Campbell Thomson

The Chairman thanked the treasurer for his Report and declared that the Financial Report and statements were now open for discussion. As there were no questions the Chairman put the motion that there was now a consensus to adopt the 2020 Financial report.

Agreed

CONFIRMATION OF THE RESOLUTION TO DELETE RULE 14

The President said that before the election of Officers, he would like to address the "elephant in the room."

On Monday 10 August 2020 pursuant to a Special General Meeting, it was overwhelmingly approved by acclamation that the position of trustees was now unnecessary as it was an anachronism – that Rule 14 be deleted and all reference to Trustees be removed from the Rule 21, sub clause 2, "3 Trustees."

The Rules amendment have not been changed on the website or with officialdom and for the sake of clarity alteration of the Rules can be passed by a 3/5th majority of full members present and voting at an Annual General Meeting.

Bearing this in mind, he would invite the Secretary to move that the position of trustees be removed forthwith, prior to the election of officers, including the deletion of rule 14 and reference to "3 Trustees" in Rule 21 sub clause 2.

Moved: I Gray (Hon. Secretary)

Seconded: J Dennison

Agreed:

ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS

President:

The Secretary, Ian Gray took the chair for the election of the President.

Mr Gray said he was very pleased to announce that we have one only nomination, namely Nick Nicolson for President but as we are a democratically formed body he called for any other nominations from the floor. There being no further nominations he had much pleasure in declaring Nick Nicolson elected unopposed and asked members to show their approval by acclamation.

Nick Nicolson then re-took the chair.

Vice presidents

As the list stands, there are four Vice Presidents, namely: Neil Hall, Robert Storm, Don Barkman and Peter Stapleton

As there were no further nominations, the President moved their re-election and called on the members to show their support by acclamation.

Secretary

Nick Nicolson announced it was his pleasure to nominate Ian Gray for Secretary

Seconded: Don Barkman Agreed

The President Nick Nicolson, moved that the following office bearers be elected in one motion and asked the secretary to read out their names and relevant positions.

Treasurer Neil Hodgkin
Registrar Neil Hall
Librarian Robert Storm
Assistant librarian John Dennison
Stage manager John Dennison

Honorary solicitor Paul Hubbard (of Downie Stewart)
Committee Michael Ayers, John Dennison, Rod
Maclennan, Ray Sheppard, Jonathan

Storm, and Graeme Welsh

Those continuing in office, in accordance with the rules, were: Patron Judy Bellingham MNZM

Immediate past president Peter Keddell

Musical director John Buchanan MNZM

Accompanist Linda Folland Deputy conductor Peter Keddell

Honorary members Russell Clark, Judy Faris, Netta Wylie,

Allan Garth, and Sir Bryn Terfel

Approval was given by acclamation.

SUBSCRIPTIONS FOR THE 2021 YEAR:

Neil Hodgkin moved that member subscriptions be \$150 reducible to \$125 if paid by the end of May. If they wished to pay the full \$150, the extra \$25 would be treated as a donation.

Seconded: Peter Russell Agreed

GENERAL BUSINESS

There were no items of general business.

CLOSURE:

The meeting ended at 9.14pm

APPROVED:

DATE: